Foundation For Contemporary Arts Finally Had Announced The 2017 List Of Grantees For Performance, Poetry & Visual Art

By Johny Smith on Jan 31, 2017 05:26 AM EST

Originally known as the Foundation for Contemporary Performance Arts, Foundation for Contemporary Arts (FCA), a nonprofit foundation based in New York City. The FCA offers monetary support and acknowledgment to contemporary performing and visual artists through awards for artistic innovation and potential.

Since the foundation started, totaling over $12 million for more than 2,500 grants awarded to artists, has provided opportunities for creative exploration and progress, says Foundation For Cotemporary Arts. To support other artists, the foundation has stood as an artist-led initiative with the awarding of unobstructed $40,000 grants among its primary quests. The Foundation for Contemporary Arts, in 2016, dispersed $900,000.

In January, fourteen Grants to Artists were awarded of $40,000 each, and it totaled of $560,000. Furthermore, a $40,000 Robert Rauschenberg Award and a $50,000 John Cage Award were made. An additional $160,000 was being distributed for 121 Emergency Grants, and $40,000 was expended in Contemporary Visual Arts Scholarships.

According to Art News, winners for 2017 include a challenging combination of established and developing artists, in a variety of diverse disciplines. In addition, the FCA broadcast this year's grantees of the Foundation for contemporary arts.

Dorothea Tanning Award is granted to the poet, artist, and herbalist Liz Waldner. Linda Austin, a choreographer, and performer won the Merce Cunningham Award. The Robert Rauschenberg Award is given to the artist, sculptor, poet and writer, Jimmie Durham.

Grants in the dance category are given to the artist, Kim Brandt and to the choreographer, dancer, artist and writer, Moriah Evans. The performance art/theater category is granted to Annie Dorsen, a writer, and director, to Yuval Sharon, a stage director, artistic director, and is granted also to the professor, writer and teacher, Adrienne Truscott. Also, in poetry, the grant is given to the poet and editor, Anselm Berrigan.

Moreover, in the music/sound category, the following grantees are; the composer, songwriter, performance creator, and scholar, Gelsey Bell, to the drummer, improviser and composer, Chris Corsano, to the vocalist, composer, improviser, performer and storyteller, Shelley Hirsch, and to the sound artist and composer, Thessia Machado.

While on the other hand, in the visual arts category, the grants are given to the following artists; Andrea Fraser, an artist, to Aki Sasamoto, a visual artist, and professor, to A. L. Steiner, an artist, worker, and activist-pacifist, also, to the sculptor, George Trakas.

© 2021 The Classical Arts, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.

TagsFoundation for Contemporary Arts, List of Grantees, Contemporary Art, artists

Real Time Analytics